Print

Previous Topic

Next Topic

Specifying upgrade management settings

The Upgrade Management screen enables you to specify how upgrades to the Cisco WebEx Connect client should be rolled out to users in your organization. You can roll out upgrades using the following upgrade modes:

  • Default: where all users are automatically upgraded to the latest version of Cisco WebEx Connect. This is the default upgrade mode.
  • Custom: where you can manually configure how you want to roll out the upgrades to users. In this case, you need to select a baseline version and create an upgrade task, which defines how the upgrades are rolled out.

You can switch between the two upgrade modes at any point time but this will have an impact on how upgrades are rolled out. For example, if you select a specific version (using the Custom mode) to roll out to users, and then change the mode to Default, the specific version will be discarded and users will be upgraded to the latest version.

The following graphic explains the steps for using the Custom upgrade mode.

 

Custom_Upgrade_Flow

To specify upgrade management settings:

  1. Click the Configuration tab to display the Organization Information screen.
  2. Under Connect Client, click Upgrade Management to display the Upgrade Mode screen.

     

     

  3. Click Change to view the available upgrade modes.

     

     

    ConfigTab_UpgradeModes

  4. Select the baseline as applicable.

     

     

  5. Select the version to deploy and click OK.

     

     

    Note: If you do not select a baseline, the following message is displayed:

    You have not set baseline versions.

    The URL in the Welcome email to download the Cisco WebEx Connect client will be directed to the latest versions of Cisco WebEx Connect for both platforms.

     

     

     

  6. Click Yes to view the selected version on the Upgrade Management screen listed under Baseline Versions. If you have selected an older version (than the latest version) in step 6, all newer versions are displayed above Baseline Versions.

     

     

     

     

    ConfigTab_Upgrade_Version_On_UpdateMgtPage

  7. Click Download next to the applicable version.
  8. Click Release Notes next to the release notes for that version.

     

     

    Note: The version listed under Baseline Versions is the version that will be deployed to your organization.

     

To create an upgrade task:

  1. Click Create Upgrade Task to open the Create Upgrade Task for Windows in the Upgrade Management work area.

     

     

  2. From the Target Version drop down list, select the applicable version to deploy.

     

    Note: If a baseline has been selected, you cannot select a Target Version. Deselect the baseline version prior to creating the upgrade task.

  3. Click Provide Customized URL to specify a custom link from where the Cisco WebEx Connect Setup Program can be downloaded. This field is optional.
  4. In the Optional Upgrade box, select a date and time on which the upgrade will be optionally deployed. Or click Skip to skip applying the optional upgrade.
  5. In the Mandatory Upgrade box, select a date and time on which the upgrade will be deployed. Or click Skip to skip applying the mandatory upgrade.
  6. From the Time Zone drop down list, select the time zone based on which the upgrade will be deployed. The date and time that you select for optional and mandatory upgrades will be calculated according to this time zone.
  7. Under Target User, select:
    • All users: to deploy the upgrade to all the users in your organization.
    • Specific Upgrade Sites: to deploy the upgrade to the selected upgrade sites. In this case, the upgrade will be deployed to all users within those sites. If no upgrade sites are listed, you will need to create them. For more information, see Creating upgrade sites.
  8. Click Save to save the upgrade task. The upgrade is displayed on the Upgrade Management page.

     

     

    ConfigTab_Upgrade_Task_on_Upgrade_Mgt_Page

  9. Click Edit to edit the details of the upgrade task.
  10. Click Close Upgrade Task to display (and cancel the deployment) as shown in the following graphic.

     

     

    ConfigTab_Upgrade_Delete_Upgrade_Task

  11. Click Yes to delete the upgrade task.
Top of Page   Print